## **Minutes**

Talbot County Board of Elections 215 Bay Street Easton, MD 21601 August 25, 2023

## Present:

Board	
Susan MacKinnon, President	(D)
Joe Secrist	(R)
Walter Black	(D)
Barbara H. Perry	(D)
Denise Lovelady	(R)

## Staff

Tammy Stafford, Talbot County Election Director

## **Board Attorney**

Lyndsey Ryan

A special meeting of the Talbot County Board of Elections was held on August 25, 2023, in the meeting room at the back of building 215 Bay Street. President MacKinnon called the meeting to order at 11:32 A.M. and noted that all were present and a quorum was present.

The purpose of the meeting was to finalize the Board's By-Laws. Based on discussion at the last regular meeting on August 16, 2023, changes were made by the Election Director, Tammy Stafford, in consultation with the Board Attorney, Lyndsey Ryan to have Section 2-2 E, Secretary duties concerning minutes agree with Section 3-3 C (4) Election Director duties concerning minutes in that both now state that the approved minutes will be sent to the Election Director to forward to the SBE and post to our website.

In addition, Section 3-3 D (1) now states that the regular meeting minutes are prepared by the Secretary with the closed minutes being prepared by the Board Attorney.

Mr. Secrist asked if there needed to be any further clarification to section 3-3 D (4) concerning the approval of closed minutes. The Board Attorney, Lyndsey Ryan, answered that it was fine since closed minutes would only be presented and approved at a closed meeting.

Discussion ended and Ms. MacKinnon ask if there was a motion to approve the By-Laws as now written. Ms. Perry so moved and Ms. Lovelady seconded.

The Election Director then stated that these By-Laws will be submitted to the SBE for any comments and once she receives them back, she will present them to our Board for final adoption.

There being no further business, Mr. Black moved to adjourn; Mr. Secrist seconded. The motion pass unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 11:41 A.M.

Attested,

4

Susan MacKinnon, President

Respectfully submitted,

Barbara H. Perry, Secretary