Alcohol Awareness Training Classes
The Talbot County Alcoholic Beverages Inspector will be conducting Alcohol Awareness Training, Training for Intervention Procedures (TiPs) for employees engaged in the sale of alcohol:
“On-Sale Licenses” (Classes B, B-F, C, D, F-A, G, H, and J) (4 Hour Class) Classes will be conducted at least once a month.
Cost $30.00; Volunteer Fire Companies and Officers at Veteran’s Organizations; $16.00
“Off-Sale Licenses” (Classes A, B-R, D, and E) – Anyone involved in the sale of alcohol is required to take this class. (3 Hour Class) Classes will be conducted at least every other month. Cost $30.00
Classes will be announced by email as scheduled an posted on this site. Class dates, times, and locations may vary.
Payment: Payment must be made to the Talbot County Finance Department, Talbot County Circuit Court House, 11 North Washington Street, Easton, Maryland 21601, at any time before the class is scheduled to begin. Presentation of the receipt to the instructor is required for admission to the class.
Current Class Schedule
You must pre-register. To register send an email to email@example.com or call 410-770-8044. Provide the following information: Date of class, your name, Your email and phone number, and your employer or business. You will be sent a confirmation email verifying the class time, location, and payment requirements.
Wednesday, April 5th at 1200PM ( This class will be held at the Oxford Community Center )
Wednesday, April 12th at 1200PM
Wednesday, May 17th at 1200PM
Possible Saturday class coming at the end of May. Will update the first week of May.
Thursday, May 11th, at 1PM
If you or your employees need a class but cannot make any of the following, email your information and you will be kept on a contact/waiting list. If there is a great enough need additional classes will be scheduled to meet the need.
Additional classes for a minimum of ten (10) students may be scheduled upon request. Please contact the Talbot County Alcoholic Beverages Inspector, Michael Smith, at firstname.lastname@example.org or 410-770-8044 to schedule additional class times and locations.
Talbot County Code, § 11-13 (F)
All employees involved in the sale of alcoholic beverages shall successfully complete training in an Alcohol Awareness Program within one hundred eighty (180) days of the date of hire. The Liquor Inspector may grant an extension not to exceed sixty (60) days for Licensees with less than three (3) employees whose businesses would suffer undue hardship, due to circumstances beyond the Licensee's reasonable control. Any request for a waiver must be submitted in writing within thirty (30) days and contain all grounds in support of the request.
(1) For purposes of this section, "Approved Alcohol Awareness Program," has the meaning and is subject to the requirements and time limitations set forth in Article 2B § 13-101, Md. Ann. Code, as amended from time to time.
(2) Nothing in this section relieves the licensee from compliance with any other applicable State requirements regarding alcohol awareness training.
(3) This section may not be construed to create or enlarge any civil cause of action or criminal proceeding against a licensee.
(4) Penalties. The Board shall impose the following penalties on any licensee who violates this section within any seven (7) year period:
(a) 1st offense, $50.00 fine;
(b) 2nd offense, $200.00 to $500.00 fine;
(c) 3rd offense, 2-5 day suspension; and,
(d) 4th or subsequent offense, 10-30 day suspension.
Page last modified 04/05/17 09:58:47