Talbot County, Maryland
About Us >> Departments >> Planning and Zoning >> Short-Term Rental

Short-Term Rental

To lease a home on a short-term basis, all owners of Short-Term Rental (STR) properties in Talbot County are required to obtain a STR license and pay the County Public Accommodations Tax (Chapter 190-63 of the Talbot County Code)*.

New applications are accepted by the Department of Planning and Zoning during the months of January, February, July and August. New license applications are then scheduled for reviewed by the County’s Short-Term Rental Review Board for approval under a public hearing process that requires notification of adjacent and proximate property owners. If approved, the Board may apply conditions to the license to mitigate any potential negative impacts to surrounding properties. The license is valid for one year. 

Subsequent renewals can be issued for a two-year period and requires an STR renewal application. Renewals may generally be processed administratively without review by the Board.

 Please be aware that:

  • A short-term rental license can be issued for the primary or accessory dwelling, but not for both
  • The maximum number of people permitted to be on-site is limited to the lesser of 12 persons or two persons per bedroom in the primary dwelling
  • A minimum three-night stay is required for all short-term lease holders and the maximum stay cannot exceed fourteen weeks
  • A short-term rental cannot be used for weddings, banquets, corporate retreats, fundraisers or other similar activities
  • The owner of the short-term rental property is responsible for payment of the Talbot County Accommodations Tax and the Maryland Sales Tax
  • All applications require an onsite inspection to verify compliance with the County adopted residential building code with respect to emergency escape and rescue openings, exits and smoke alarms; to determine that the plan submitted with the license application is accurate; and to make note of any special conditions
  • All licenses require the property owner or a resident agent with a home or office within thirty (30) miles of the STR to be available to respond when contacted from this location during periods of short-term rental

*For the licensing of an STR located in the towns of Easton, Oxford, St. Michaels, Trappe, and Queen Anne, please contact the applicable jurisdiction for licensing requirements.  

Citizen Complaints

Please call the Talbot County Department of Planning and Zoning at 410-770-8030 and the on-call County Code Compliance Officer will be notified. The County is working to develop a 24/7 application and complaint portal. Please check back with this Department webpage for updated information. 

Please call 911 if there is an immediate threat to your health, safety or welfare.

IMPORTANT NOTE FOR OWNERS OF EXISTING NON-LICENSED STRs

STRs operating without a license are prohibited. Anyone operating or advertising an unlicensed STR on or after six (6) months from November 10, 2018 shall be subject to a fine of not less than $500 and shall not be entitled to apply for a STR license for a period of twelve (12) months from the date of such violation.

How to Apply

You can start your online application here:  New Short Term Rental Application  and for a Renewal Short Term Rental Application. The fees are:

New License:                                                $300

Renewal License:                                        $250

Health Department New License:             $100 (no fee if served by public sewer)

Health Department Renewal License:     $  75 (no fee if served by public sewer)

License Inspection Fee:                              $  40 (If conducted by County. A third party certified building inspector may complete the inspection)

Application Timeline

New applications are accepted by the Department of Planning and Zoning during the months of January, February, July and August.

Renewal applications are due no later than sixty (60) days prior to the date of expiration, or the application will be treated as a new application. A property owner with an existing STR license in effect on November 10, 2018 may apply for a waiver or variance of the STR regulations if unable to meet the license application requirements.

Required Documents

A checklist is provided for new and renewal applications. Please note that while a site and floor plan does not need to be drawn by a professional, it must be drawn to scale.

Advertising Statement: A statement that describes where and how you will be advertising the STR (print, on-line, video or audio material) that includes an acknowledgement that all advertising must include the STR license number

Standard Lease Agreement and House Rules:

Site and Floor Plan

Proof of Satisfactory Inspection Report

Copy of current deed to the property

Copy of notification letter and signed Certificate of Service 

Questions

For questions related to the STR license, please contact Carole Sellman 410-770-8033, Elisa Deflaux at 410-770-8034 or the main line 410-770-8030.

 

Page last modified 11/09/18 08:52:37

BACK
TO TOP